Australian Affinity

Ever since I was a little kid, I have been absolutely in love with Australia. Hell on Disney, to me Australia was the most magical place on Earth. And it still is, sort of.

So many great things have come from Australia. Crocodile Dundee… Nicole Kidman… Farscape… the Tazmanian Devil… uhh…kangaroos… OH! OUTBACK STEAKHOUSE! And lots of other great stuff.

I’ve always been fascinated with their continent. Looking back, it all started with Grease. Yes, Grease, the Broadway musical-turned film musical- turned Broadway musical again. From the second my five year old eyes saw Sandra Dee and my tiny ears heard her melodic voice singing “we go together like wap babaloo bop ba wap bam boom” I was in love. Well, it was a crush actually, but love sounds more romantic. And to be fair, I recall watching the video for “Let’s Get Physical” and remarking to my Mother something to the effect of “Mommy I want to marry her when I grow up.” To which I believe she said something vaguely lesbian.

Olivia Newton- John was my first crush. And what a crush she was; long golden hair, green eyes, sexy accent, the voice of an angel… sigh. Is it any wonder why I still get wood every time I hear Xanadu? Yeah, that’s right… XANADU! I love that song. Which is good, because once you even think about it, it’s stuck in your head for 3 years. Seriously, Xanadu should be in the Guinness Book of World Records for most difficult song to forget.

Anyway.

For some reason I was thinking about her yesterday. And I wanted to hear Hopelessly Devoted to You. So I plugged her name into youTube, and up popped a few dozen videos of her. And I realize this is a little gay, but I sat there for an hour and a half, staring and listening to my first crush with a moon-faced expression. Olivia may be a sterling representation of all things 80’s, but she still holds up. Her music isn’t just great in a nostalgic sense (let’s be honest, a good bit of 80’s music is); it’s just great music. Why isn’t this angel of melody celebrated more than she is?

And you know what? As I watched those videos… many of which are 25 years old now… I still have a crush on her. Hell, I think I still want to marry her. And I want to visit Australia more than ever.

Hmmm. I wonder if I could meet her?

Video of the Day (watch this and TRY not to fall head over heels for her, I dare you):

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Chaibaby on January 27, 2008 at 2:24 am

    Hahaha — and I felt that way about Danny Zuko!

    Reply

  2. Posted by geist0 on January 27, 2008 at 2:44 am

    He still looks good too…

    Uhh… not that I notice that sort of thing. I’m just saying.

    Reply

  3. Posted by niceinohio on January 28, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    I fell in love with Olivia the very first time I heard her sing “Have you never been mellow” When I saw her face on an album cover I thought “OMG!” She is freakin’ PERFECT!”

    So, when she sings “I Honestly Love You” does it seem like she is singing directly to you?

    Weird thing: A few years ago, I woke up, and for some reason had her on my mind. I could not get her out of it. So I did a quick “google” for her and it turns out it was her birthday! (Key Twilight Zone music) I am cosmically in zen with Olivia Newton John!Woo HOo0!

    Nichole Kidman and Olivia in one blog! I’m impressed!

    Reply

  4. Posted by geist0 on January 28, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    I actually went out and bought her greatest hits after I wrote this.

    She IS perfect. I’ve seen recent pictures of her, and I have to say, I would still marry her 50- plus year old ass in a heartbeat! I still have a huge crush. I really am wondering if I could meet her in Australia. We could take pictures. Eat dinner. Run through a sunlit field as butterflies flitted around us….

    Not “I Honestly Love You”, but I do feel like that when she sings “Physical”. Maybe thats just me.

    She was always on my mind… she was allllllwaaayyyysss… onnn… my mind.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

