A Dozen Corpses

I’ve been thinking about death a lot lately. Constantly. End of the world, dying alone kind of stuff. I haven’t talked about it here, because it’s very depressing. I’m a paranoid psychotic. You do NOT want to read about the scary shit going on in my mind. But I’ve been overly preoccupied with it, to the point of waking up in the middle of the night, draped in fear.

But right now I’d like to talk about death in different manner. I was viewing Loree’s blog (apologize for the lack of link, but frelling Websense blocks Myspace at my work) and it got me to thinking about dead people. So I wanted to make a list of 12 dead people I wish I could meet.

1. & 2. My Maw-Maw and Paw Paw.

Because I miss them dearly. They are nearly twenty years gone, and sometimes I can’t remember their faces. That the worst part of losing someone; when time steals their faces from your mind’s eye.

3. My Dad’s father. I never really got to know him, and I have a few questions.

4. Dorothy Parker.

The Queen of the Algonquin Round Table. Andquite possibly one of the wittiest people who ever lived. I adore her. In fact, here’s a few quotes:

-I require only three things of a man. He must be handsome, ruthless and stupid.

– If you want to know what God thinks of money, just look at the people he gave it to.

-You can lead a horticulture, but you can’t make her think.

-This is not a novel to be tossed aside lightly. It should be thrown with great force.
5. & 6. Waylon Jennings and Johnny Cash.
What’s heaven without a couple of hillbillies and some good music? These men weren’t cowboys. They were rebels and outlaws. I would love to spend a week listening to their stories and music.
7. Marilyn Monroe.
She was a little slutty and a whole lotta crazy. That doesn’t make for much of a relationship, but it makes for a hell of a weekend.
8. Leonardo Da Vinci.
Wouldn’t it be incredible to meet a man who defines the words savant and genius? I would have to learn Italian for this, but I want to do that anyway.
9. Sam Kineson.
Comedic genius. If you don’t get why this guy is on my list… you just aren’t cool.
10. Bruce Lee.
He’s Bruce Lee. I don’t need a reason.
11. Allen Ginsberg.
,
A leader of the Greenwich Village Bohemian movement. He’s sort of a personal hero of mine. Again, I think he would have amazing stories.
Here’s a clip of his epic poem, Howl :

I saw the best minds of my generation destroyed by
madness, starving hysterical naked,
dragging themselves through the negro streets at
dawn looking for an angry fix,
angel-headed hipsters burning for the ancient
heavenly connection to the starry dynamo in the
machinery of night,
who poverty and tatters and hollow-eyed and high
sat up smoking in the supernatural darkness of
cold-water flats floating across the tops of cities
contemplating jazz,

12. Britney Spears.
Technically not dead yet, but come on… any day now. She’s going to OD sometime this year. This one is VERY slutty and even crazier than Marilyn. This meeting would be strictly sexual, like in that weird Steve Guttenberg movie, High Spirits, where he bangs the ghost of Darryl Hannah into life. … moving on.
So that’s my list. Go tag yourself. I want to know who you want to meet.
4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Loree on January 31, 2008 at 8:55 am

    Dang it. The pics are all red x-s.

    Britney’s a lousy lay. Seriously. Betcha. At least gag her.

    Other than that… fabulous list, and more fabulous reasons.

    Maybe. I’ll think about it. Although my tag immunity has another 68 days to go. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by geist0 on January 31, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    No way. Britney is trailer trash. TT girls ALWAYS know how to fuck. Breeding is in their genes. But even is she doesn’t, I’m sure one of her other personalities does.

    Technically I didn’t tag you. But it is food for thought.

    p.s., the pics aren’t anything special.

    Reply

  3. Love it! And I must learn more about this Dorothy Parker!!!

    I will give it serious thought! I can think of two or three right now…

    Reply

  4. Posted by geist0 on January 31, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    You don’t know Dorothy Parker? You would love her. You can find collections of her short stories at any book store. And of course, there’s plenty of information on her on the net.

    Hmmp. Next you’ll tell me you don’t know who Tallulah Bankhead is.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

