Twenty of My Favorite Films

It seems strange because it isn’t novel idea by any standard, but I know someone who did this on Myspace, and it made me want to do it. I’m a big movie buff. Just love them. I love so many in so many different ways, that I’m not sure I can put them in any specific order. I don’t necessarily have them ranked, it’s just that some I like more than others. But I’ll do my best.

20. Grease

Man I had such a crush on Olivia Newton John. I still do. I’ve seen this movie a hundred times. I still dig it, and love the songs.

19. The Great Outdoors

This was my favorite film when I was 9. I think it still holds up. It’s just great. Classic John Candy and Dan Ackroyd at their peak. Like most of my favorites, this is something I can still watch today.

18. Die Hard

You can’t have a list without Die Hard. Because… it’s fucking Die Hard!

17. Armageddon

Yeah, yeah. It’s a Michael Bay film. The plot makes no sense. But it’s balls to the wall action, with an awesome cast, and possibly the greatest bit of unintentional humor of all time.

16. Jersey Girl

People give Kevin Smith so much shit over this movie, because of Gigli and the whole Bennifer nonsense. The fact is this is his best film. It’s beautiful in more ways than I describe. Not to mention the fact that Affleck proves once again that yes, he can act. Affleck was the bomb in Phantoms, yo!

15. Stripes

Fuck this is a great flick. This is one of those movies as a kid that made me want to be a comedian. Bill Murray, Harold Ramis, Judge Reinhold, and John Candy! Sometimes when the going gets rough I remind myself that like Ox I too am a MEAN. LEAN FIGHTING MACHINE!!!!!!!!!!!

Also I want to have sex in a trunk. And an RV. And Communist Russia.

14. My Best Friend’s Wedding

This isn’t just a hilarious movie sporting Julia Roberts on one of the few times that she actually is a knockout (not to mention Cameron Diaz). It also happens to be the first realistic romantic comedy I’ve ever seen.

13. Beverly Hills Cop 2

Eddie Murphy was never funnier than in this movie. Which is kind of sad. It was pretty much all downhill after this film. Still, it holds up all these years later.

12. Good Morning Vietnam

Robin Williams was my idol growing up. Seeing him now as his own worst impersonator depresses the shit out of me. But whenever I want to go back and see the real Williams, I pop this in. It reminds me that, yes, Robin Williams is the shit.

11. Cars

I had to put a Disney film on this list simply because I am a Disney nut. I’ll grant you that technically this is a Pixar film, but even so. It was this or The Incredibles. This won out simply because this is the last one I watched, and I watched it just about eight times. It seems ridiculous off the bat (not to mention completely illogical) but there’s something incredibly charming and funny about this film about anamorphic automobiles. It also brings me back to my time in Arizona. I can’t wait for Cars 2.

10. Pirates of the Carribean

He’s Captain jack Sparrow, love. How can you NOT dig this movie? The perfect blend of action, comedy, and horror… and it’s a Disney movie… based on a frickin ride!

9. Walk the Line


I saw this because I’m a Cash fan and I didn’t know much about his history. And it was beautiful. Joachin Phoenix and Reese Withspoon did an amazing job.

8. Serenity

Firefly is one of my all-time favorite shows. Though the movie spinoff is much darker… hell, it’s still chock full of Whedon-y goodness. And I have a man crush on Nathan Fillion. So there’s that. This movie makes me proud to be a Browncoat.

7. Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

Indiana Jones is one of the last true Icons of my generation. I chose Crusade because it has Sean Connery in it, therefore making it twice as awesome. I also love John Rhys Davies’ last line.

6. X2

The second X-Men film is arguably the best live action comic based movie that’s been made so far. There wasn’t a whole lot of Cyclops, but aside from that complaint, this movie delivered better than advertised. It’s pretty much a two hour geek-gasm.

5. Ocean’s 11 (2001)

I can watch this movie over and over again and never get sick of it. It’s just fantastic. It made me like Brad Pitt and Matt Damon. Soderbergh’s best work. Brilliant story. Great Actors. Awesome Cinematography. Like Benedict, I never saw it coming.

4. Transformers (1986)

Fuck Keanu Reeves. I’m down with the original Matrix, bitches! R.I.P. Optimus Prime.

3. Batman Mask of the Phantasm

Ask any real fan what the best Bat-film was and you’re likely to get one response: Phantasm. No live action movie will ever come close to doing what this animated film was does. It puts the one true vision of Batman on the screen.

2. Garden State

This is the movie I would make if he hadn’t done it first. It’s about life, and pain, and acceptance. It’s just beautiful. And incredibly funny.

1. Return of the Jedi

It’s damn near impossible to choose just one of the Star Wars films, but I’ve always been partial to Jedi. Not sure why. Maybe it’s the yub yub song. Or Vader vs Luke. Nah, I know what it is! Three words:
LEIA’S. METAL. BIKINI.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by airb on May 16, 2008 at 10:37 am

    I love cars,grease,and walk the line!

    Reply

  2. Well, good news then. Anyone who agrees with me has great taste! Congratulations.

    Reply

  3. The Great Outdoors and Stripes were probably my two FAVORITE movies growing up. I still think of lines from both and giggle, though I haven’t seen them in forever! I might have to go find them now! I STILL haven’t gotten to see Walk the Line from beginning to end, and I’m pissed about it. I’ve gotta get that done!!!! -And there were a few on here that I haven’t seen, that I think I will, so thanks:D

    Reply

  4. Big BEAR!

    “OOH yeah! Big Bear! Grr!”

    No… no! Big bear! Big bear chase… big bear chase me!!!

    Love that fuckin movie.

    Walk the Line was pretty damn awesome. One reviewer said of it “Walk the Line isn’t the first movie about a music legend, but it may be the first one to merit a sequel.” I’m paraphrasing of course.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

