Miles to go Before I Sleep…

I was reading  this list of 75 things every man should do before they die. To be honest, a lot of the list is sort of ridiculous (number 8: make an omelette).  Some are kind of cool though.

And I’m always thinking about goals and accomplishments. I’ve done a few on my list, including Whitewater Rafting, which is a big one.  So I thought I would take another stab at my “To Do List”.  Here they are in no particular order.

  1. See Australia-  I’m not sure where my near-obsessive fascination with Australia began.  Perhaps it was because my first crush, Olivia Newton John, hails from there.  Whatever it is; the land Down Under has always seemed like the closest place to Heaven on Earth in my mind
  2. Go on a road trip across America-  my heroes have always been cowboys.  Well, not really. Most weren’t but it sounded good, didn’t it?  One of my boyhood heroes was poet Allen Ginsberg, who crammed into a car with a camera and a bunch of his famous bohemian friends (including Jack Kerouac, I believe) and discovered America.   That’s the closest thing I have to a fantasy. 
  3. Ride a horse-  Just because.
  4. Learn to play an instrument (extra points if it’s a guitar)-  Everyone wants to be a rockstar at some point in their lives.  Realistically, I just want to be able to sit around with an old acoustic and play the white man’s blues.
  5. Be the coolest guy ever  (why the fuck not)- not too far from there now  : )
  6. Steal a car-  Yeah, this will NEVER happen.  Not because I’m a coward.  Just because I’m not wired that way.  But it WOULD be awesome.
  7. Drive a race car, especially Formula One- Give me fuel, give me fire, give me that which I desire.  I’ve got octane in my blood.
  8. Ride my motorcycle up a famous highway- First,  I need to actually own a bike.  Which I’m working on.  But then, there are three things I want to do with that bike.  Drive up the Florida and California coasts, and go to the Stugis bike rally, which is supposed to be insane.
  9. Bungee Jump off a bridge-  This is kind of a new one.  It’s a “conquer your fear” thing.  After that I move onto sky diving.
  10. Be thin- just once in my life, I would like to be thin.  I’ve tried.  But I always reach this glass ceiling of 230 pounds, 30 shy of my goal.
  11. Surf-  just ’cause.  I mean, Zack Morris is my role model.
  12. Ski or Snowboard- sounds like fun.
  13. Experience true, all consuming love-  the kind where you can’t breathe when she’s around, and you hold your breath when she’s gone.
  14. Do the impossible- Impossible is merely a matter of perspective.  So if you can accomplish just one thing which appears to be impossible, no matter how small- all things become possible.
  15. Save a life
  16. Make a movie-  I want to see my name under the marque lights- so to speak.
  17. Publish a novel- yeah
  18. Throw a truly raging party-  because I’m bad-ass.
  19. Inspire someone- I want to change the course of someone’s life.
  20. Get  Into a Bar Brawl-  is there anything more manly or rock n’ roll than you and your buddies brawling in a bar with some hooligans??  I think not.
  21. Seduce someone-  hey LADIES!
  22. Make love to a beautiful woman in another country-  this one and 21 both go into that noir-esque mindset that I have, where everything is romanticized and cinematic.  I want to meet a beautiful woman in a foreign land  (Italy, Greece, China, Brazil) and have a movie moment.
  23. Spend two months under a vow of silence-  I would actually do this now if my job didn’t require me to talk to people.  I can’t explain to you why exactly. Suffice it to say, it’s a combination of a spiritual cleansing, and an experiment to see if I could function completely stoic and see how people react to me.
  24. get a tattoo- long time goal. still working on it.
  25. Raise a family-  just something I want someday.
  26. Find my faith again.
  27. Be a model for a painting.
  28. Meet all my myspace friends.
  29. Go on a wild all-night romp across the city that never sleeps, preferably with a cute girl. (courtesy of Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist)
  30. Fight against impossible odds.
  31. Sing on stage with a live band.
  32. Publish my own comic.
  33. Own my own live music venue and/or comic book store.
Sooooooo… do any of you have a list?  I would love to hear them.
4 responses to this post.

  1. Well said Great information, keep up the great work!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Becky K. on August 15, 2008 at 7:50 am

    Great List

    Reply

  3. Posted by M to the Licious on August 15, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    How about a movie moment seducing a woman in the far off land of ARIIIIIZZZZOOOOONAAAAAAAAAA? 😉 haha.

    We should go bungie jumping together!!

    Reply

  4. Misty, I’ve ALREADY seduced you. Now I’m just going to leave you wet and begging.

    You love it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

