From a Whisper to a Roar

The days have been slowly crawling by, like the hands of a clock ticking on a bomb.

The desire to leave is near overwhelming.   It like being awake before Christmas morning.  Like waiting for your life to finally start.   And I keep thinking “why?”   Why did it take so long?  Why didn’t I do this sooner?

It’s scary to move on.  To say that there’s no going back and that I’m moving away.   Finally.  Completely.  And part of me is scared to death.  The finality of it scares me. To think that I am no longer a young man, but simply a man.  To know that I will never again know the warmth of my Mother’s protection.   It is the nature of life, but it is a hard thing to lose.

I am scared.

But it’s a good fear.  It’s like something wonderful is awakening inside of me.  And it’s time to let it out.  Right now it is just a whisper.  But it will grow.  Soon it will be more.

Quote of the Day:

“Y’all don’t understand.  I ain’t scared of you motherfuckers!!”

~The late  great Bernie Mac

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by M to the Licious on August 15, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    I have felt this feeling before. Its scary and exciting all wrapped into one crazy emotion….

    Reply

  2. Posted by Loree on August 15, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    Not one damn thing better than a good fear. Unless it’s accompanied by 7-Up bubbles in your belly. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Loree- thats called gas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

