It’s Been a Pleasure, Old Friend

We loaded up like buses and rustled in like sheep every Monday and Thursday night.  Much like the Pinochio scene it was based on, we were drawn in by the glitz and the glamour and the smell of debauchery that permeated the air, not to mention the giant welcoming legs of the vivacious Jessica Rabbit.

Ah Pleasure Island…

Disney’s own self-styled mecha of sin and fun.   Back when I was in the college program, we were there every week on employee nights.  It was the place to be, where every night was New Year’s Eve.    The Rock n Roll Beach Club, The 70s Club, The Adventurers Club and Motions.   I can’t recall any specific moments, but I remember dancing the nights away.  It was a kaliedoscope of beautiful women, intense dance music and alcohol.   It was us being young.

The last time I was there was May of 2002.  I always thought there would be other times.   You always think there’s more time.  And now it’s closing.   It’ll be gone by the end of September, replaced by more shopping and restaurants .   And it makes me sad.  It is the nature of man to change as time goes on, but why must it be that we strip away all that is good and unique about a place in the name of progress?

To most of you, it’s just a bunch of clubs.  But to me, it feels like the last chapter closing on my youth.

Nicole, Janae and Josh
Me and Kim

Me and Kim

Nicole, Janae and Heather

Nicole, Janae and Heather

Janae Dancing

Janae Dancing

Go Whiteboy Go!

Go Whiteboy Go!

Dancing the Night Away

Dancing the Night Away

The Boys

The Boys

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by M to the Licious on August 17, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    It sucks when things change….I am not a fan of change. I feel your pain. Thanks for sharing pics! They look like fun memories! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Thanks for caring Sugar.

    As for the memories… they were the best!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Loree on August 18, 2008 at 12:43 am

    This makes me sad. It feels like when The Last Hurrah closed here and I felt like I didn’t have any place to play anymore. Regrettably, in the context of play that place was for me for five years, I was right. Get your ass there, baby. [Janae. wow.]

    Reply

  4. Well darlin, maybe there’s other Hurrah’s to be had further down the road?

    I really want to go one last time.

    So you think Janae is beautiful, huh? I’ll tell her you said so. Just so you know, several of these people have been mentioned in my Disney stories.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

