A Tree in the Woods

When explaining philosophy to a child or an imbecile, many people ask the question “if a tree falls in the woods and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound?”

For the record, that is an incredibly stupid question.  Furthermore it’s not philosophy.  But my point in bringing this up, is that to me, voting is sort of like a tree falling in an abandoned forest.

I voted for John McCain earlier this week.  I did this despite the fact that I knew he would lose.  I did so in spite of the fact that I do not believe that voting makes the slightest bit of difference in the election of a President.  We have an electoral college who decide the Presidency.  This is not a democratic form of election.  Anything less than this understanding is just naive.  Or maybe hopeful is the term.

So why do I vote?

The point in voting my friends, is the same as the sound of a tree falling in the woods.  It doesn’t matter if anyone hears it.  It doesn’t matter if you make the slightest difference in the world or the wind.  The point is not to be silent.  To exist.  True philosophy isn’t about trees falling in the woods.  It’s about a man who never speaks out about his opinion or makes the slightest impact in the world he walks in.  Does he exist?

It doesn’t matter if John McCain won.  Nor does it matter if my vote counted.  The point is that I believed in something and I stood up for it.   I vote, therefore I am.

Leave a Reply

